Because of Him, I can sleep

When I googled the words “storms, sleep”  the link to a website for widows and widowers was in the long list of search results.  On their home page  they have this particular statement

“CD to promote Sound Sleep and Relaxation:

These CD’s have been especially created to bring you a beautifully calming experience, and incorporate natures sounds to transport you to far away places, as you slowly drift off to a deep trouble-free sleep.”

I would say that this marketer is quite ingenious.  Who would have thought, something to help sleep through a storm.  Which brought to my mind someone who had actually slept through a terrible storm once….

There is this well-known storm which happened many years ago:

The boat was only a small fishing vessel. But the storm was fierce, and the waves were huge, and they threatened to spill over the sides of the boat and over turn it.

The crew were skilled and experienced seamen  and yet the storm had scared them witless.  For it was no ordinary storm they had ever experienced.

They panicked as they tried unsuccessfully to gain control of their boat.  All of them working hard except one, their captain, their leader…  He was sleeping peacefully in a corner of the boat !

“How can He be so calm, and does He  not care that we are going to drown?”

They did what any sea worthy sailors would do….get their captain!

He woke up in annoyance, looked around the waves and loudly He said, “Be still!”

Then He turned around and looked at His men,” Why are you so frightened? After all we have been through, don’t you have confidence in Me? Don’t you know me by now? ”

He slept because He can, because He is bigger than any storms anyone will ever face.

He slept  because  sleep is considered a blessing for those who has complete trust in God:

“I will lie down and sleep in peace,
for you alone, O LORD,
make me dwell in safety.”–Psalm 4:8

because He slept, therefore I can.

P.S  I do not need any CD to help me either.

About mamaj

mom with two grown up girls, children pastor, avid knitter, coffee-lover, bear-collector. I love reading, hanging out with my girl friends and yes, I am owned by a golden lab, Jaden.

Posted on July 13, 2010, in storms, trials. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment