Daily Archives: July 26, 2010

Sense and Sensitivity

The other day I made the mistake of answering the phone while I was in bed sick like a dog.

I guess it was just natural instinct, after all the phone is just next to me on the night table.

“Hey , you are home!   I am so glad that I finally got hold of you, I have been looking for you, emailed you this morning, called you at work and on your cell phone…”

“mmm..moan …”

“Hey, you sound terrible, are you sick?”

“……. cough, cough…..hack, hack…”

” I need to ask you something,  you remembered that information  you gave me like three months ago? well…….”

“….ahh…choooo….mmmmm…sniff….”

“yada, yada……”

“cough, cough, sniffle, sniffle……moan…..”

“yada, yada…blah? blah?? blah, blah??”

Well, you get the picture.

It is so easy for me to sit here and condemn my friend for not having the gumption to leave me alone when I was sick beyond words, but then when I think about it, I am also guilty of committing the same crime…..too many times.

It is not until I have worn the shoes that I finally realized how they feel, especially when you are not doing well.

It is unfortunately though, because many of us do not have the sense of sensitivity towards people who are in some point of distress.

Now that I know how it feels on the other side, I pray that from now on I will have the sense….

and sensitivity towards people who are in need.