Daily Archives: July 7, 2010

My God is So Big

The splendor of a King, clothed in majesty
Let all the earth rejoice
All the earth rejoice

He wraps himself in Light, and darkness tries to hide
And trembles at His voice
Trembles at His voice

How great is our God, sing with me
How great is our God, and all will see
How great, how great is our God

Age to age He stands
And time is in His hands
Beginning and the end
Beginning and the end

The Godhead Three in One
Father Spirit Son
The Lion and the Lamb
The Lion and the Lamb

How great is our God, sing with me
How great is our God, and all will see
How great, how great is our God

Name above all names
Worthy of our praise
My heart will sing
How great is our God

How great is our God, sing with me
How great is our God, and all will see
How great, how great is our God.

God is bigger than any of our problems,  that’s what I learned today.

I woke up this morning with my friend’s face in my mind.  I could not stop thinking about  her dire situation. 

I normally pray while I walk the dog in the morning.  This morning I just felt this heavy burden on my shoulder, and it is too heavy to carry…

I have been praying for healing for one, a job for another….restoration…redemption….salvation….mercy… and the list goes on and on, and in my mind the faces of people I am praying for keep turning around in my head. And this morning, I found that I am speechless, and I don’t know how to pray any more.  

Then this song came to my mind, I could not get the words out of my head, and like a broken record it kept playing over and over. 

Especially the chorus, ” How great is our God, How great is our God!”

I realized that I have been badgering Him for a while with my list of things, I have been praying for my children and my friends as if He does not know their problems and needs.

“Do you realize how great I AM? Do you think that I don’t know their needs?”  ..”Worship me…remember how BIG I AM, and these problems are nothing to ME?”

” I love them more than you do, or will. Just give them to me.”

He has been teaching me to release, let go, push harder in my faith and now the lesson is– just know that He is BIG, bigger than anything I have to shoulder…

and this morning He told me “Hands off!”

This message came out loud and clear as I read today’s  “Stream in Desert ”

If we wholly trust an interest to God, we must keep our hands off it; and He will guard it for us better than we can help Him. “Rest in the Lord, and wait patiently for him: fret not thyself because of him who prospereth in his way, because of the man who bringeth wicked devices to pass.”

Things may seem to be going all wrong, but He knows as well as we; and He will arise in the right moment if we are really trusting Him so fully as to let Him work in His own way and time. There is nothing so masterly as inactivity in some things, and there is nothing so hurtful as restless working, for God has undertaken to work His sovereign will. –A. B. Simpson

And the title of the devotion?  

Keep Your Hands Off

It is such a comfort to drop the tangles of life into God’s hands and leave them there