“…consider the soil…”

An old soul said this to me  the other day after I ranted incessantly about those tough cookies in my life……

” you have to consider the soil, sometimes it is better to move on to the ones which will produce…” so true, and so wise.

I don’t know how many tough cookies  I have come across  so far in my lifetime…. they are the  high maintenance; defiant; rebellious, obstinate,……….you know the ones I am talking about ?   I have seen how my coworkers have poured the hearts and souls into the lives of these people, constantly counseling them and holding their hands in their time of need,  only the moment they walk out of the offices, they return to their same old ways.    I have also experienced people who will consistently badger others just to get an agreement or approval of their views and they will not settle until they find someone who will stamp their cards.

What my friend meant was that we should not give up on these people, but then we need to know when  to stop and consider the condition of their hearts.  There are people whose heart is so hardened against God that there is not a lot we can do humanly, except to leave them in the hands of the One who makes all things possible, even to change the hearts of man.    I think this is where we err at times, when we think we are God and we can change and convict man. May be this is one of the reasons we get  frustrated and burnt  when we spent endless hours and energy on someone and we do not see changes forthcoming.   

The person who sows  is only responsible in planting the seeds in the soil, nothing more and nothing less.  Ultimately it is the Gardener who is the one who prepares and changes the conditions of the soil.   Not too long ago I had to deal with a soil that is so littered with rocks and pebbles that it is impossible to work with, and I could not help but feel a lot of guilt over the lack of response in this person’s reception of the Truth. I have to deal with rocks of self-pride, rebellion and critical spirit.  I felt spent to say the least and  it took a lot of struggle on my part to finally accept that in order for the seeds of truth to take root, thrive, and be productive, these rocks and pebbles have to be removed and be broken down.  This is the Gardener’s job, for He alone can do that, and over time just as seen in nature,  the rough conditions of life–trials and sufferings, will finally erode and break down these hard pieces.  

” Time will tell”, that is what another sow-er told me, he too is working with the same kind of soil. 

All I can do at this moment, is to trust that the Gardener is at work, and He will handle these rocks and pebbles in His time and His way.

Meanwhile, I pray that He will be merciful as He breaks and tilt this soil.

26 I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit in you; I will remove from you your heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh. 27 And I will put my Spirit in you and move you to follow my decrees and be careful to keep my laws.”  Ezekiel 36:26-27

“…. If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.” John 15:5

About mamaj

mom with two grown up girls, children pastor, avid knitter, coffee-lover, bear-collector. I love reading, hanging out with my girl friends and yes, I am owned by a golden lab, Jaden.

Posted on October 26, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment